FAQs


What are living traditions?
Living traditions are our intangible cultural heritage. In other words, Intangible cultural heritage refers to all traditions and practices that are passed down from one generation to the next and which provide us with a sense of identity and continuity. These can range from stories and legends, to music and dance, customs and festivals, right up to traditional know-how and skills. Intangible cultural heritage is not only diverse, but also comes in all manner of forms, and, unlike our tangible cultural heritage, it is constantly evolving and changing.

What is the Inventory of Living Traditions in Switzerland?
The "Inventory of Living Traditions in Switzerland" comprises 167 representative elements of intangible cultural heritage drawn from across the country. The list details traditions from many different fields, including music, dance, theatre, customs, traditional craftsmanship, industry, as well as knowledge concerning nature. All entries are of particular significance for a place, a region or Switzerland as a whole. When Switzerland ratified the UNESCO Convention for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage, it pledged to compile an inventory of its living traditions.

Why draw up a list?
If something is to be preserved for posterity, it must first be identified and documented. Inventorying intangible cultural heritage is a key feature of the UNESCO Convention. The process makes it possible to identify elements of our intangible cultural heritage and to decide on measures to transmit and promote these traditions. Inventorying is also one of the preconditions for inclusion on UNESCO lists ("Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity" and the "List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding").

How does the Inventory help promote living traditions?
Intangible cultural heritage can only survive if these traditional practices and expressions continue to be observed and are meaningful to the bearer or practitioner. For this reason, only indirect safeguard measures can be taken. The goal of such measures must always be to generate awareness of the value of living traditions. The Inventory of Living Traditions in Switzerland helps to raise public awareness of the importance of living traditions. It also should lead to better recognition for the tradition bearers.

What is the link between the Inventory of Living Traditions and the UNESCO lists?
All signatory states to the UNESCO Convention are obliged to compile and maintain an inventory of intangible cultural heritage found on their territory. The Inventory of Living Traditions, Switzerland fulfils this obligation at national level. However, several cantons have also drawn up their own inventory. UNESCO manages international inventories, including the "Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity" and the "List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding". A tradition that appears on the Swiss Inventory does not receive entry to the UNESCO Lists automatically, although only elements that appear on the national list can be put forward for inclusion in the international ones.

Who compiled the Inventory of Living Traditions?
The current inventory features elements that were put forward by cantons. At the end of May 2011, the Federal Office of Culture presented 387 living traditions that the cantonal offices of culture had nominated for inclusion on the National Inventory.

A steering committee headed by the FOC examined and evaluated each proposal. The committee included federal and cantonal representatives, as well as members of the Swiss UNESCO Commission and Pro Helvetia (the Swiss Arts Council), and various other experts. In October 2011, the 167 traditions which the committee had chosen were submitted to the cantons for approval prior to their official publication. The FOC tasked Lucerne University of Applied Sciences with the coordination of this work.

Sélection définitive pour la liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse

Last modification: 07.09.2012
Size: 149 kb
Type: PDF


When and how is the Inventory updated?
Intangible cultural heritage must be able to change and evolve if it is to survive. Consequently, the Inventory of Living Traditions must be a living document, a stipulation also set out in the UNESCO Convention. New traditions will be added periodically, while those that no longer satisfy the criteria will be removed. Once an evaluation of the pilot phase is complete, a final decision will be taken on how and at what intervals these updates will be made.

Is it possible to submit suggestions for inclusion on the Inventory?
Yes. Suggestions may be submitted at any time using the contact form. When the time comes to update the inventory, these proposals will be examined as part of the general discussions.

Is it possible to submit additional photos, as well as audio and video files for inclusion on the Inventory?
Yes. Photos, as well as audio and video files which will improve the content of the Inventory can be sent at any time using the contact form

 

Have the federal authorities further plans to promote and support living traditions?
The Inventory of Living Traditions in Switzerland is part of the federal authorities' priority to promote and support living traditions. The FOC, Pro Helvetia, the Swiss National Library and the Swiss National Museum have put a raft of projects in place in order to increase awareness of the importance of regional and traditional cultures for social and cultural life in our country.

FAQs


Que sont les traditions vivantes?
Les traditions vivantes sont notre patrimoine culturel immatériel. La notion de patrimoine culturel immatériel désigne un ensemble de traditions et de pratiques transmises de génération en génération, qui nous donnent un sentiment de d'identité et de continuité. Citons à titre d'exemple les contes et les légendes, la musique et la danse, les coutumes et les fêtes ou les savoir-faire traditionnels. Le patrimoine culturel immatériel est divers et multiforme; à la différence du patrimoine culturel matériel, il se modifie constamment.

Qu'est-ce que la « Liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse »?
La « Liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse » comporte 167 éléments représentatifs du patrimoine culturel immatériel tirés de toutes les régions du pays. Cette liste montre des traditions des domaines de la musique, de la danse, du théâtre, des coutumes, de l'artisanat, de l'industrie et des connaissances en lien avec la nature, qui ont une importance particulière en Suisse au niveau local, régional et national. En ratifiant la Convention de l'UNESCO pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel, la Suisse s'est engagée à dresser une liste des traditions vivantes.

Pourquoi est-ce utile de dresser une liste?
Ce qui doit être conservé doit d'abord être identifié et documenté, ceci afin d'être diffusé. L'inventorisation du patrimoine culturel immatériel est un point central de la convention ; elle sert à identifier le patrimoine culturel immatériel et permet de définir des mesures ciblées de diffusion et de promotion de certains éléments de ce patrimoine. Il est en outre l'une des conditions à toute inscription sur les listes internationales de l'UNESCO (« Liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'humanité » et « Liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel nécessitant une sauvegarde urgente»).

Comment la Liste encourage-t-elle le maintien des traditions vivantes?
Le patrimoine culturel immatériel ne vit qu'aussi longtemps qu'il est pratiqué et qu'il a un sens pour ses détenteurs. Les mesures prises en vue de sa conservation ne peuvent dès lors être que de nature indirecte. Le but de est conscientiser la population à l'importance des traditions vivantes. La liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse contribue à sensibiliser le grand public à l'importance de ces traditions et à soutenir la reconnaissance de leurs détenteurs.

 

Qui a rédigé la Liste des traditions vivantes?
La liste actuelle se base sur les propositions des cantons. Fin mai 2011, l'Office fédéral de la culture présentait les 387 traditions vivantes proposées par les services culturels cantonaux pour inscription sur une liste nationale.

Liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse : propositions des cantons (état 31.05.2011)

Dernière modification: 28.04.2012
Dimension: 287 kb
Typ: PDF


Les propositions ont été examinées et évaluées par un groupe de pilotage dirigé par l'Office fédéral de la culture. Ce groupe était composé de représentants de la Confédération, des cantons, de la Commission suisse pour l'UNESCO, de la fondation Pro Helvetia et d'experts. En octobre 2011, la sélection définitive de 167 traditions a été publiée après la validation par les Cantons. Les travaux ont été coordonnés par la Haute école de Lucerne sur mandat de l'Office fédéral de la culture.

Sélection définitive pour la liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse

Dernière modification: 07.09.2012
Dimension: 149 kb
Typ: PDF


Quand et comment sera actualisé la Liste des traditions?
Pour demeurer vivant, le patrimoine culturel immatériel doit pouvoir évoluer et se transformer. Aussi la liste doit-elle évoluer en conséquence, conformément à la convention de l'UNESCO. De nouvelles traditions vivantes seront accueillies sur la Liste, et celles qui ne remplissent plus les critères en seront tracées. La manière et la périodicité de l'actualisation seront fixées après une évaluation de la phase pilote.

Est-il possible de faire des propositions d'inscription de traditions ?
Des propositions de traditions peuvent être transmises en tout temps par le biais du formulaire de contact du site. Ces propositions seront discutées lors de l'actualisation de la Liste.

Est-il possible de proposer des images, des sons et des vidéos pour compléter la description d'une tradition?
Les images, documents sonores et vidéo qui apportent un complément à la description d'une tradition peuvent être proposés en tout temps par le biais du formulaire de contact du site.

Pourquoi l'Etat doit-il soutenir les traditions vivantes?
Le patrimoine culturel ne comprend pas seulement des bâtiments ou des objets mais également des savoirs, des pratiques et des coutumes. En Suisse, nul ne conteste l'importance du patrimoine culturel immatériel pour la diversité culturelle, la cohésion sociale, l'identité culturelle et l'image que le pays et ses régions donnent d'eux-mêmes. De nombreuses particularités nationales et régionales se définissent à travers des facteurs culturels immatériels. Soutenir les formes d'expression culturelles traditionnelles doit faire partie de l'encouragement de la culture par l'état.

Que va faire la Confédération pour soutenir les traditions dans l'avenir?
La création de la liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse s'inscrit dans le contexte de la priorité « Traditions vivantes » de l'encouragement fédéral de la culture. A travers divers projets, l'Office fédéral de la culture, Pro Helvetia, la Bibliothèque nationale suisse et le Musée national suisse mettent en évidence l'importance des cultures régionales et traditionnelles pour la vie culturelle et sociale suisse.