UNESCO Convention


The Convention for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage (RS 0.440.6) was adopted by the UNESCO General Conference on 17 October 2003 and came into effect on 20 April 2006. It supplements not only the 1972 UNESCO Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage (RS 0.451.41), which focuses specifically on tangible and immovable cultural assets, but also the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (RS 0.440.8) because intangible cultural heritage contain the building blocks of cultural diversity. The core value of regional and national identities was long under-estimated but the Convention remedied this situation by affording intangible cultural heritage the recognition it deserves. So far, 120 States have ratified the Convention (list of States Parties).

The principal features of the Convention are:

  • the obligation on States Parties to create conditions that are conducive to the practice and development of traditional forms of cultural expression both at national level and in the context of international cooperation;
  • the recognition of the role played by bearers of intangible culture heritage (communities, groups and individuals who produce, practice and pass on these traditions);
  • the creation of a Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity, a List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding, and a Fund for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage in order to provide States Parties with financial and technical assistance so that they can honour their obligations.

La Convention de l'UNESCO


La Convention pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel (RS 0.440.6) a été adoptée le 17 octobre 2003 à la Conférence générale de l'UNESCO et est entrée en vigueur le 20 avril 2006. Elle complète la Convention de l'UNESCO pour la protection du patrimoine mondial culturel et naturel de 1972 (RS 0.451.41) qui a pour objet le patrimoine matériel et immeuble. Elle est aussi complémentaire à la Convention de l'UNESCO sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles (RS 0.440.8), car la diversité culturelle se fonde sur la richesse du patrimoine culturel immatériel. On a longtemps sous-estimé la valeur fondatrice d'identités régionale et nationale et la valeur de communication entre générations du patrimoine culturel immatériel. La Convention pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel lui accorde la reconnaissance qu'il mérite. Elle a jusqu'ici été ratifiée par 120 Etats (liste de tous les Etats-membres).

Les principaux éléments de la Convention sont :

  • l'obligation pour les Etats-membres de créer des conditions favorables à la pratique et au développement des formes d'expression culturelle traditionnelles au niveau national et dans le cadre de la collaboration internationale
  • la reconnaissance du rôle des détenteurs du patrimoine culturel immatériel (communautés, groupes, individus qui créent, pratiquent et transmettent ce patrimoine)
  • la création d'une Liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'humanité, d'une Liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel nécessitant une sauvegarde urgente et d'un Fonds pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel qui doit permettre de soutenir financièrement et techniquement les Etats-membres dans la concrétisation de leurs obligations.